What we’re eating

As I mentioned, I’ve been “making the cut” since March 8th. According to the quiz in the book, I’m a balanced metabolizer. All of the recipes for such a metabolism have so far been great, with two exceptions:

1. Breakfast in a bowl

Here’s the recipe: Put all sorts of gross stuff in a bowl. Leave it over night to soften. Consume reluctantly. That’s not exactly the recipe from the book, but that’s how I’d re-write it if I were editing the second edition.

What it really is, is cottage cheese, plain yogurt, rolled oats, slivered almonds, vanilla, and all spice. It doesn’t sound that bad. But OH MY GOD it was torture! NOT picture-worthy.

2. Grilled Sirloin Salad

Okay, this one actually isn’t that bad, but I don’t like steak so I don’t like this salad. This salad was actually today’s lunch and it solidified for me two things. I don’t like steak, and I must be committed to this plan to have eaten steak today. The rest of the ingredients were delish, though.

Besides those two nightmares, I have no complaints. Here’s a few snaps of what we’ve been eating AND enjoying:

Garlic Salmon with cauliflower mash

My favourite recipe so far is definitely a lunch item: California chicken salad with avocado and mango. Yummmm… pictures coming. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

