The mom jeans pledge

Pretty soon I’ll be toting around a few more can’t-leave-the-house-without-them items than my current must-have list of:

1. wallet

2. keys

3. occasionally sunglasses.

I know that my life will change dramatically in a few weeks. I know that I can’t even begin to imagine just how much my life will change. But, I don’t think – I hope – I don’t have to completely change everything about me just because I’m becoming a mom.

For example, I pledge here and now to not wear mom jeans. You know what I’m talking about. (I can’t find a good link to the original SNL commercial parody for “mom jeans” otherwise I’d post it here).

What I’m trying to say is, I want a great looking bag that also happens to be a diaper bag. Call me crazy, but I think in 2011 a woman can have both beauty and function in her diaper bag. If I’ve got to carry it everywhere I go, I think it should look good.

I’ve narrowed it down to four favourite and affordable (and one splurge) diaper bag contenders. I actually like a few different fabric options available from the etsy shop.

 

1. JJ Cole Swag Bag $89.95; 2. Coach Coated Canvas Bag $358; 3. Watermelon Wishes Shop Plum and Lime Ultimate Diaper Bag via Etsy $95; 4. SkipHop Versa $70

 

Which one should I go for? Do you know of any other fashionable options I should know about? Share! What accessory did you not give up when you became a mom?

Leave a Reply

