My story of the version

Nope… that’s not bad grammar. Also “My version of the story of my version” seemed a bit cumbersome.  This is how it all went down (literally).

We headed to the hospital as planned for our 1:30 appointment. We arrived at maternity triage only a few minutes early (after navigating makeshift hallways and passageways due to some major construction going on) and checked in. I was a bit distracted by the upcoming procedure and I guess we can blame it on baby brain, but when the nurse asked for my health card I handed her my Visa instead. Great start! I guess that Visa has just been getting a workout lately as we prepare for baby.

We were told to wait nearby and someone would come along and get us settled. We waited for about 5 or 10 minutes and then we met Gwen who was the nurse assigned to us for the day. She tried to put us in one room, but found a maintenance man inside so we opted for a different room. I’m not too shy, but I don’t think he wanted to be a part of this.

Once we got into a room with no maintenance man, Gwen got me into a gown and then comfortable on the bed. When Dr. Oliver came in with a resident, Dr. Cairns, Gwen was about to get me going on an IV and take a blood sample, but Dr. Oliver said she didn’t usually have her patients do that. (This turned out to be a good thing).

Instead Dr. Oliver just wanted to monitor the baby  – “take a strip” I learned is medical-ese for this procedure – to make sure that the baby was doing well enough to go through with the version. Gwen also gave me a button to press every time I felt the baby move or kick.

I warned her that this was a very active baby, and in fact had been pretty busy all morning with pretty constant movement. I wondered if maybe Baby was trying to remind me that we hadn’t had anything to eat or drink since 12 midnight.

Gwen would come in and out of the room, and then at one point after looking at the strip said “You weren’t kidding about your active baby!” Our baby was making such big movements in fact, that you could hear the movement on the heart monitor over the sound of the heartbeat.

About 30 minutes or more passed and I just kept pressing the button.

Dr. Oliver and Dr. Cairns returned (and promptly disappeared to fetch an ultrasound machine) and then started discussing the version.

As Dr. Oliver was getting all the ultrasound goo on my belly she was explaining to Dr. Cairns a bit of the history of versions, how we do them in Canada and the recent “school of thought” so to speak on when and why you might do one.

Once I was full of goo and the ultrasound was in place, Dr. Oliver said, “Well look at that. I just have to walk into the room”. I’m not sure what I said exactly after that, but I couldn’t believe what I was seeing on the monitor. The baby’s head was already down. Baby Peanut had already turned!

I know I let out a big laugh because I just couldn’t believe it, and was of course overjoyed!

I think somewhere in the excitement Dr. Cairns said something like “it could still turn back”. And if I wasn’t so excited, I might have commented that in the future she might consider not saying that to just any first time mom who has recently found out her baby is head down.

So, all that was left to do was change and leave. No procedure needed. I am now faced once again with the reality that this baby will need to somehow exit via hoo-haw, but I don’t care. We are both so excited that this baby has figured things out on it’s own.

Now we wait!

I also wanted to say thank you to all of you who have been sending your love and thoughts and prayers our way. It certainly worked. Thank you for all the suggestions of how to convince the baby to turn. We were ready to try them all no matter how wacky some of them seemed.

One thought on “My story of the version

Leave a Reply

