My latest obsession

If you haven’t already heard of it, it’s the latest social network that is wasting my time blowing my mind! It’s Pinterest and it describes itself on the website as a place to “organize and share all the beautiful things you find on the web. People use pinboards to plan their weddings, decorate their homes, and organize their favorite recipes. Best of all, you can browse pinboards created by other people. Browsing pinboards is a fun way to discover new things and get inspiration from people who share your interests.

Basically for a visual person like me it’s like a constant flow of eye-candy. Wow, am I still using that term? Sorry. I now return you to 2011.

It’s a virtual bulletin board that doesn’t ever run out of space. It’s a place where I collect all the beautiful and inspiring spaces I see on blogs, products for the home that I seek out on the web. And, it’s a place where I can have access to delicious recipes, smart ideas, organizational advice, and on and on. The realms of inspiration are never ending.

Here’s a screen shot of what my “feed” looks like.

 

In just this glimpse you can see the pearl bracelet that I covet, one of my favourite workout tops, drawer organization, a gorgeous staircase, bottle camp candles, a sweet gift idea, a cute photograph, a DIY no-slip carpet solution, a beautiful bathroom, a recipe, a light and airy foyer, and a fireplace mantle decorated for Hallowe’en.

The beauty of Pinterest, I think, is that it’s great for keeping track of your own personal online finds, but you also get the best of the web delivered to you too as you scan what people you follow are pinning and what everyone is pinning. If you like something you see you can just “repin”. Brilliant!

I’m getting lots of ideas for rooms, colour combinations, party ideas (for Courtney’s upcoming baby shower) and recipes that I’m ready to try. It’s making me motivated to keep working on making our house a home, the courage to do more DIY, and the appetite to try new recipes. I’ve already used Pinterest for my “updo” for my brother’s wedding. I’m looking forward to making more ideas a reality.

I’ll keep you posted.

2 thoughts on “My latest obsession

  1. I’ve never heard of pinterest but I think I’ll try it out! I always see so many things on the internet for event ideas, home decorating or recipes that I end up keeping as links in a word doc. Not nearly as tech-savvy or as cool sounding.

Leave a Reply

