Celebrating Baby B

A few weeks ago I hosted a baby shower for my friend Courtney. I was so happy to host the celebration. I had so much fun planning the festivities (since about …oh ten seconds after I found out) but I had even more fun at the party and getting to know all the people who are awaiting the arrival of baby B as anxiously and excitedly as I am!

I decided it would be a cute idea to have a theme of “baby” or “mini” everything. The main meal was sliders and mini sausages and onion rings. I also served baby shrimp, a tower of powdered mini donuts, individual salads with baby corn and baby carrots, babybel cheese, bite-size pastry-wrapped brie, and of course mini cupcakes!

I even formed the cheese ball into a baby bump because I knew she’d appreciate my creativity sense of humour.

To drink I served lemonade in baby bottles, and an easy-to-make white wine sangria. If you can’t read the labels, the lemonade label says “Pregnant” the sangria label says “Not Pregnant”.

As we mingled before lunch and waited for all the guests to arrive everyone got their creative juices flowing and decorated a onesie for baby B.

Both Courtney and her husband are Ultimate Frisbee enthusiasts and the onesies definitely reflected a theme.

I decorated the house with DIY tissue pom poms, baby’s breath and mums (which I thought were appropriate for a baby shower) and penant banners. I also set up a station where guests could leave their advice for parents-to-be and their wishes for baby.

I found the free pennant banner printable via Pinterest. Originally from here.

I set up our Pack N Play as the gift station.

Before guests left we took the time to pose for a group shot for posterity’s sake. What a great looking crew.

And I baked cinnamon buns so each guest left with a little favour.

Big thanks to my friend E who baked all the cupcakes while I was out at a wedding the night before, and who arrived early to help set up and make hot food. Thanks to husbandman for grilling all the burgers and sausage and his general awesomeness, and thanks to our babysitter who helped with everything from frosting cupcakes, filling salad cups, and tying ribbons on the favours – not to mention watching Harrison when he was awake.

You know I love a project, especially when the project is a party, so each little detail was so much fun to create and made the months fly by. Many of the ideas for the shower I saw on Pinterest or Bump Smitten and adapted either the colours, theme or idea slightly to make it special for Courtney.

Now that the shower is over I can’t believe we’ll be meeting baby B in just a few weeks!

6 thoughts on “Celebrating Baby B

  1. Pingback: Seven months « to london with love

  2. Pingback: Good hostess, bad blogger « to london with love

Leave a Reply

