Recipe: Nutty buddies

Are you ready for the easiest, most delicious recipe EVER?!

You are literally in for a treat.

I don’t know about you, but I like a recipe that I can remember off the top of my head so this recipe is adjusted slightly from the one you’ll find on the Kellogg website. I think that my version is both easier to remember and more delicious.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups icing sugar

1 cup smooth peanut butter

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (or equivalent semi-sweet chocolate)

6 cups Crispix cereal

Directions:

Pour Crispix cereal into a large bowl. Set a side.

Put icing sugar in a large Ziploc-type bag. Set aside.

Combine peanut butter and chocolate chips in a microwave-save bowl. Microwave on high for about 30 seconds. Stir.

Microwave on high for another 30 seconds stir until mixture is combined.

Pour peanut butter/chocolate mixture over cereal and gently combine until cereal is well-coated.

Once coated, pour cereal mixture into the Ziploc bag.

Seal the bag (leaving air in the bag) and shake until the mixture is covered in icing sugar. You may need to add more icing sugar to get cereal well-coated.

Refrigerate. – I usually just throw the whole bag in the fridge.

And that’s it! As you can see from the directions it only takes you as long as it takes to measure and 1 minute in the microwave.

You can eat them right away, and I usually steal a few, but I like to refrigerate them to really let them set. You can keep them in the fridge or leave them out at room temperature if you’re having a party or just want them out for munching.

I made these for my Girlfriends Cookie Exchange this year and packaged them up with a mini Christmas cracker and tag with the recipe printed on one side and their initial on the on the other. I printed the recipe on card stock. Then I cut the red scrapbook paper to size and glued it to the back. I just free-handed the letters and cut them out of scrapbook paper and glued them on.

Ta-dah!

Let me know if you try them. They are dead simple and to die for. Happy snacking to you!

3 thoughts on “Recipe: Nutty buddies

Leave a Reply

