New Year’s Resolutions

It’s still January (just barely) so now that I’ve finally put the Christmas stories to bed, I’m going to move on to the next holiday, the New Year. But don’t worry I’m not going to drag this out.

I just want to put down here and out there on the interwebs my personal resolutions for 2012.

1. Be in more pictures with Harrison.

As the one usually behind the camera it can be tricky to get into photos as often as I’d like. I’m not camera shy, really, but I don’t have go-go-gadget arms for taking shots of myself with my DSLR. I’m happy to report that I’m already making progress on this resolution courtesy of “selfies” on my iPhone, like this one that I snapped at story time one night when husbandman wasn’t going to make it home in time to say goodnight to Harrison.

2. Buy a sewing machine, and take a sewing class.

I’m getting so inspired over on Pinterest. (Follow me!) One of the things I love to do around the house is accessorize our rooms with pillows and other fabrics (drapes etc.). It’s everyone’s favourite part of decorating and I’m no different. Except I need to finally take Home Ec. and get my Martha Stewart on so I can sew a pillow cover, fix a button (yeah I can’t do that) and mend a sweater. Not to mention I think it’ll save us some money in our home decor budget because I can change things up quickly and on the cheap if I find a good deal on fabric. I have a feeling I’ll be good at it.

3. Try to post 3 times a week after I go back to work.

My return to work is looming like a big dark cloud on the horizon. I’m not sure what this transition will bring for me and my life. Like most moms I have mixed emotions about the big return to work. I know I’ll be busy, but I still want to try to post three times a week, so I can check in with you, keep you up to date on what’s going on over here (keeping my parents updated is what this blog is for anyway) and also to give some time to myself once things get busy and hectic and probably a little bit Cuh-RAZY. That might mean blogging on the weekend and getting posts ready in advance in a not-so-real-time way, but hey, I’m not that great on staying on top of things now anyway, so this could be do-able and not that different for you my loyal reader.

And lastly, try to complete all the to-dos on my house resolutions list too.

How are your resolutions going? Have you taken up a hobby and are loving it? Or have you stopped going to the gym? I think it’s never too late to start fresh so keep it up! Or Good Job! Whichever applies to you.

2 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Great post! I think your resolutions are reasonable. I am enjoying my daily goal resolution and I also have given up having sugar/sweetener in my tea. I am slowing getting used to that! I have a feeling you will be good at sewing too… I don’t know why but I do!

  2. Pingback: Sew what? | to london with love

Leave a Reply

