Are you ready for some football?!

First of all let me say How is it Friday already?

I don’t know where this week went. It must’ve gone so quickly because I’m looking forward to a great weekend including a visit from a friend that we don’t get to see very often, and our annual Super Bowl Party potluck. I’m especially excited for the football since I cheer for the Pats and husbandman is a silly Giants fan. It should be a fun game at least because of our friendly rivalry. You can find us on separate couches.

Harrison has yet to pledge his allegiance to one team or another. He’s a smart kid so I’m sure he’ll see the light and choose the Pats.

I’m looking forward to the “tailgating” (read: face-stuffing) and excited to see what everyone will bring.

For our part, we’re providing devilled eggs (with chives on top like laces to make them look like little footballs), chili, wings, and a cheesy potato dish we call Shworties. And a little something to wash it all down with.

If you’re having a Super Bowl party this weekend and want to impressive your husband’s friends’ wives (because really they’re the ones that’ll notice) here are my three easy-peasy tips:

1. Colour coordinate: This year it’s pretty easy since both teams wear red and blue. Add white for the Giants and silver for the Patriots. This can be something as simple as having a blue table cloth and red napkins. You can find both at the Dollar Store.

2. Give your dishes a clever name. May I suggest:

Red Zone Hot Wings

Aiken Bacon-wrapped scallops. Well bacon-wrapped anything.

Red, White and Blue cheese bites. Or maybe a blue cheese dip to go with those wings?

Michael “Boley” Chili, or Super Bowl of chili

Manningham-burgers

Antwaun Molden chocolate lava cake

If you want to get all fancy, perhaps Bootleg of lamb? Okay that’s probably a stretch, but you get the picture. Be creative!

3. And finally, try to think about your guests and anticipate what they’ll need. You don’t have to go crazy, just make sure the chairs are facing the tv, there’s lots of napkins and some cold drinks. It’s simple details that make people feel at home so they can relax and have a good time.

Speaking of which, I’m hoping to do the same. I want to relax and enjoy our company since getting together with our friends is a big part of why we host.

Happy Super Bowl weekend to you. Go Pats Go!

Are you hosting a party this weekend, or going to one? What’s your favourite part of the Super Bowl? As much as I love the game, I love the commercials just as much. Any half-time show watchers out there?

4 thoughts on “Are you ready for some football?!

  1. You can put us down for some “tackle salad”…lol! I am too funny this morning. With that said, once you have an idea of numbers let me know so I can make a reasonably sized salad 🙂

    Am I a going to see a blue table cloth and red napkins? I have some silver in my hair these days so that should work.

    Ps. Those devilled eggs sound cute 🙂

    • Tackle (Taco) Salad… Love it! So cute.

      I’m not sure if you’ll see blue and red. I’m keeping it very simple. If I have some of those colours in my party stash then you’ll see them.

      I hope the eggs turn out. I always use the Martha Stewart recipe. I hope what I envision for the chives turns out.

  2. Dan insists on bringing some meat as well. So it will probably be sausages cut up into smaller pieces or something of that variety.

  3. Pingback: Mourning period is over « to london with love

Leave a Reply

