Party inspirations

Hope you all had a wonderful long weekend. We had visits with family and friends and spent lots of time as a family.

As I mentioned, I’ve got Harrison’s first birthday party on the brain. I’ve moved past the ideas/inspiration stage and I’m moving on to the Get On With It Already! stage. (It’s only 2 weeks away!) But, I thought I’d share some of the inspirations that I’ve found (mostly on Pinterest) and plot out my plan of attack to get this party planned.

image source

Since balloons are the inspiration for my theme, I’d like to work them into the decor. Seems easy enough, but I’d like to use them in interesting ways – like this balloon garland.

image source

I’ve taken a monthly photo of Harrison so I’d like to display them all somehow for guests to check out and look back on how he’s changed. I like the way these photos are displayed so colourfully.

image source

What’s a party without a Happy Birthday banner? I like how bright and exciting this one is. It looks simple enough to DIY with some scrapbook paper and a printer.

image source

I love this “oldey-timey” photo booth sign. I am hoping to set up a little photo area with some props for all of Harrison’s friends (big and small) to snap a few pics of themselves having fun at the party.

Speaking of photos, I have in my head that I’ll take inspiration from these 10 Pictures to Take on Baby’s First Birthday (image source) and get my camera out and channel my inner Annie Liebowitz. I may try most of these out on his actual birthday, rather than on the day of his party. How cute is that chalkboard sign? And check out Clara from YHL on her first birthday. I would love to get a picture of Harry in his wagon on his birthday, but the weather will have to cooperate.

image source

And finally, I’m taking this colourful thumbprint idea as the jumping off point for creating Harrison’s guest book. I need to work on my PhotoShop skills to pull this one off, but I’m hoping maybe the hubs can help.

I’ve got a few other ideas up my sleeve to make this birthday cheap and cheerful. I’ll fill you in as they come together.

With that said, I’m off to work on the monthly photo project!

What are you guys up to? Planning something? Plotting something? Share!

2 thoughts on “Party inspirations

  1. I love the pom pom photo thing… I may just have to do something like that since I will have a lot of monkey photos 🙂 Thanks for the idea!

    Not sure if you want to work in a book to his party some how but The Balloon Tree by Phoebe Gillman is a beautiful book!

  2. Pingback: Harrison’s birthday party « to london with love

Leave a Reply

