Twelve and Thirteen Months!

To say that the last two months were busy and went by quickly would be an understatement. So I’ll just cut to the chase before I lose any more time.

I’ll sum up February as a friend of ours did at your birthday party: You’re no longer a fraction!

You’re a whole number. You’re ONE! I can’t believe that a whole year has passed since you came into our lives. It has definitely been the most amazing year of my life.

You’re twelfth month was stressful for me as your dad and I interviewed daycares for you and as I prepared to head back to work. I was having a hard time imagining not getting to spend all my days with you and your gorgeous smile and charming personality. And I definitely miss them all the time. I see how much you’ve learned and how much fun you’re having, though, and that makes me feel a little bit better. A little. I think I’ll go eat some emergency chocolate now.

February really was bittersweet for me, but you made it such a great month for us. We spent our Valentine’s day together with a special mom and Harry date day, we also went to the movies together, we played in the snow, and because you had a bit of a cold, I got a lot of great snuggles from you too. It’s like we both knew that we needed to make the most of it.

We also watched the Super Bowl together and celebrated your buddy Nicholas’ half-birthday in February. It was a full month.

And then, the big day! Your birthday kicked off the month of March!

Dad worked from home on your birthday so we had a fun family day, then we all went out for dinner. Where you… ahem… grabbed the waitresses butt. Good thing you’re cute, buddy.

Then we all had fun at your birthday party a few days later on the weekend. I don’t think you knew that all the fuss was for you, but you sure loved those balloons, all your friends’ company, and that first delicious cupcake. Your dad and I found out just how much we were holding you back, when you surprised us by easily finishing the cupcake we gave you at your birthday party. For a few days after your birthday party we still had some leftover cupcakes on the counter. Every time we walked by you would point to them like you wanted more.

Also on the day of your birthday party you gave the clearest sign for “more” that you’ve ever given. You’ve been asking for more of everything ever since.

You also cut not one but two new teeth in March. When you get a new tooth they only seem to bother you for one day. Its a painful day (for both of us) but its just one day. You get extra snuggly so I can’t say I mind too much.

You also moved from two-hand holding walking to one-hand walking. And if you ask me I think you can do it all on your own, but you’re just not ready yet so for the time being your dad and I hold out that security-blanket of a finger and you walk around the house with glee.

Of course, I went back to work in March and so you started going to daycare. You absolutely love going and by the stories I’m told you’re adjusting well. You are always happy to be dropped off and still smiling when I pick you up. I’m pretty sure that some days you’re bigger when I pick you up than when I dropped you off. I have literally had to adjust the car seat straps on two occasions. And your dad and I are both fascinated both by how smart you are and by the power of peer pressure. One week you came home with a new “trick” every night. One night you could show us your belly, then your belly button, then point to your noise, and then blow a kiss. You must be watching what the other kids do and trying to do like they do. Its working! You’re so smart.

And you were baptized in March. What a special, memorable day we had. And you were the perfect little angel.

I can’t wait to see what the next twelve months brings and all the ways you’ll show us how you see the world.

Love,

Mama

4 thoughts on “Twelve and Thirteen Months!

  1. So many changes! Can’t wait to see what is in store for year 2! I think we need to plan a playdate soon. Nick misses his buddy.

Leave a Reply

