It’s easy going green

It may not be easy being green according to some loveable muppets, but I think it sure is easy going green. Which is why that’s what we’re doing.

It is Earth week!  And this year I’ve decided to give our family a little challenge to “green” our lives a little bit more in the month of April. I’m calling it a challenge, but its really just a list of simple things you can do to reduce your impact on the environment, so maybe some of you will join me. Come on… it’ll be fun!

I feel like we already do a lot to keep our impact low, like turning off lights (when we leave a room), recycling, opting for re-usable cloth diapers for Harrison and washing them at home, using our local green bin program, and using eco-friendly cleaning products and energy star appliances. Our house even has a tankless hot water heater. None of those things are earth-shattering (ba-boom ching!), but every little bit helps, which is why my challenge list isn’t really revolutionary either but maybe they’ll kick-start a new habit that will have an impact over time. After all I live in the city that launched the Blue Box program, so I feel like its the least that we could do.

So without further ado here’s the list…

1. Recycle our e-waste (electronic equipment).

2. Pick up a rain barrel to collect rain water to water our plants and lawn this summer.

3. Replace more lights in the house with CFLs (Compact Fluorescent Light bulbs).

4. Go to the farmer’s market and purchase locally grown/made products

5. Re-purpose the old shelving from our closet.

6. Renew and re-use old shadow boxes.

7. Dispose of Hazardous Household Waste properly (at a drop-off day later this month).

8. Go Flexitarian – Make a meatless dinner.

9. Cut back on paper – convert as many bills to paperless as possible.

10. Donate some household items to the Habitat for Humanity ReStore.

We’ve actually already done a couple of these things already this month (1, 4, 8 – by accident and 9). So I’ll fill you in on all the details soon.

Happy Earth Week!

Anyone else out there got the urge to go green? Does anyone make Earth day a special event in their home? I’m definitely itching to get out and do some yard work and planting but the weather has been a bit cool still and we still have frost on the ground some mornings. I know some people in warmer climes have already spruced up the yard. I’m jealous! 

6 thoughts on “It’s easy going green

  1. Great post!

    We put our pasta sauce in salsa/pickle jars as well. I have a ziplock full of batteries I need to drop off at the dump and another thing I have started doing is not printing receipts/slips when I take out money at the bank or get gas.

    Ps: What ya doing with my old shadow boxes? 🙂

  2. Meg – there’s a household hazardous waste drop-off day at the end of the month so you don’t have to drive out to the dump. I’ll let you know when and where.

    And another good tip! I don’t print receipts either unless I really need to.

  3. We did meatless dinner last night and used lots of the things I bought at the market… So I crossed two things off your list! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Timber « to london with love

Leave a Reply

