Around the family room

It’s been a while since I’ve shown wider shots of the family room. We’re inching ever so slowly towards a completed to-do list.

I found an ottoman at HomeSense while I was out “window shopping” one day and thought I’d take it home with me. It had almost perfect dimensions for the space, and was in the right colour palette.

AND it had storage. Right now, it’s housing toys, to keep them put away when it’s not play time.

I’ve also hung some DIY artwork above the big-box built-ins.

I just snagged some branches from the Black Walnut tree that grows in our yard, laid it on a piece of poster board cut to size and then spray painted over them to get the silhouette effect. I lifted them up once I had sprayed to my desired colour concentration and let the posters dry. I used one branch in one, and two in the other to get a coordinated pair. Once they were dry I just popped them behind an IKEA Ribba frame. Ta-dah! Easy art.

Oh and that wacky piece of art on the mantle is just a place holder. I got a couple free canvases (already painted) and I was testing it out for scale. I’m just going to paint over them when I get a chance. What do you think? Does it work? What should I paint on it if I keep it there? Something soft and abstract or something bold and patterned?

I guess I should finish with the room’s to-do list and how we’re progressing.

  • Source and buy new couch.
  • Wait 8-10 weeks for delivery
  • Purchase new or “rediscover” secondhand arm chairs for more seating in the room
  • Paint
  • Find shelving units or display storage for either side of the fireplace
  • Get a media storage unit for tv, speakers and receiver to replace the old coffee table that we are currently using to hold up our tv — yup we’re using a glass coffee table and the receiver and speakers are on the floor
  • DIY a coffee table  Okay… so I didn’t DIY the coffee table, but this tufted ottoman is a perfect fit for the space. Cushy, soft, kid-friendly, and hollow.
  • New ceiling fixtures
  • Change the look of the fireplace without painting it. (I’ve got something up my sleeve)
  • Art for the room. DIY?
  • Window treatments
  • Accessories – cushions, throws, baskets, objets d’art etc.
  • Find some side tables and maybe ottomans for the club chairs
  • Add a rug to define the space (I’m not sure if I like the rug on carpet idea, so it’s just a thought right now)

I’m still on the hunt for the perfect window treatments at a good price, and we’re still saving our pennies for new chairs too. As usual, I’ll keep you posted.

Have you made any small changes to your rooms? Anything that’s made a big impact? Share!

2 thoughts on “Around the family room

  1. Pingback: Deck the Walls: Honeymoon edition | to london with love

Leave a Reply

