Foster – One month

Dear Foster,

Welcome to the world little Sprout! And welcome to the family, we’ve been expecting you!

Your first month seems to have gone by so quickly. Its been marked by so many visits, and sweet snuggly moments.

You were not only born on Easter Monday, but also April Fool’s day. That means both you and your brother are born on the first of the month and are exactly 25 months apart. I’ve started referring to the two of you as my “two number ones”, and it couldn’t be more true. I’ll admit that while pregnant, as expectant and excited as I was for you to arrive, I was a bit worried, too. How could I love another baby as much as I love your brother? But, it took only a glance at you as they placed you in my arms to know that that wouldn’t be a problem at all. I fell madly in love with you the moment I laid eyes on you. My love for you both multiplied, not just by two, but by some intangible amount that I can’t describe. And, like your brother, I recognized you as soon as I saw you.

April is supposed to be the month of showers that bring May flowers, but we mostly had very cold weather. It even snowed several times during the month, including on your birthday. Some joke! Its a bit ironic, since so far, we know that you dislike (very much!) being cold. Diaper changes are always an event, since you don’t like being cold, and you pee like a fire hose. In your first month you’ve peed on me and your dad more times than Harrison ever has.

You’ve already made your first trip to the Farmer’s market (5 days old), had a photo shoot (7 days old), been to the doctor’s office (10 days old) and entertained – and by that I mean been cuddled by- many, many visitors who were all so excited to meet you.

You’re growing like a weed. It turns out our sweet little nickname for you was very appropriate because you’re certainly sprouting! At your one month check-up you were already 9 lbs and 13 oz. That means you gained almost 3 whole pounds in your first month! I hope we can keep up the good work in the feeding/eating department. When you were born you were slightly tongue-tied. Once we had it fixed feeding you was much easier. And you don’t like to miss a meal! Yes, you’re keeping me up sometimes multiple times at night, but as long as you’re getting what you need, that’s fine by me. Although, if you could understand me it might not always sound like it at 4 am. πŸ™‚

In the looks department you certainly look like Harrison did as a newborn. Many people commented on how much the two of you looked alike. You can certainly tell that you’re brothers. You have your dad’s hairline just like Harry, but my forehead (or lack thereof). You have a wider bridge nose, but the same lips. You have big, beautiful, deep blue eyes. And you have so much hair! Well… you have a cute little tuft of long hair right at the crown. Its so adorable!

I can’t wait to see how you’ll change and grow. I have a little experience with knowing how quickly time passes, so I’m trying to soak up every little moment of little you. And you’re letting me.

Thanks for that.

20130528-163809.jpg

882040_10152727757100074_68295587_o

906941_10152727757470074_1253088934_o

DSC_0044

Love,

Mama

4 thoughts on “Foster – One month

  1. Great post Heather! It always gives me goosebumps when people talk about how they worried their heart couldn’t hold enough love for more than one baby. I am sure it is easy peasy but because I haven’t gone through it I can’t even imagine it to be true!

Leave a Reply

