Got the blues

Not really. This post is making me very excited because I’m making progress on Harrison’s big boy room. Once I finally get the room painted we’ll be able to transition Harrison into his new room, and then once he’s settled, we can convert the crib/toddler bed in the nursery back to a crib and officially move Foster into his room.

When thinking about the room, I knew I wanted to experiment a little bit with the walls in Harrison’s room. My inspiration post had lots of interesting wall applications – wooden accent wall, bold stripes, grass cloth – and they add so much personality to the rooms that I thought I’d give it a try. Why not? A child’s room should be fun, no?

I thought I was going to end up doing painted stripes on at least one wall at the outset of the project. Maybe ombre or a perhaps a chevron if I was feeling particularly ambitious, but then I found the navy and white stripe sheets, and I thought putting stripes on the walls would be just a bit too much.

So I decided that since the bed is a bright cheery birch colour and the headboard wall is the first you see when you enter the room, that giving that wall some impact would be fun, and help the headboard stand out. And that’s how I landed on doing a navy and grey room. The headboard wall will be navy, and the rest of the other three (and a bit) walls will be a nice light grey so as not to close in the rest of the room.

Off to my local paint store I went.

I wasn’t sure where to start. I had a few blues picked out from sources in magazines, then I browsed the swatches and before I knew it I had five shades of blue picked out!

Blues

Once I got home I couldn’t wait to slap them up onto the walls and see what stuck out. I painted them left to right alphabetically so that if I forgot which was which, I could just remember the names and know which one was the middle one etc.

This picture doesn’t really do the differences justice. The one on the left, Evening Dove, is the only one that looks blue at all in the picture above. The others mostly look black, I think. But you have to trust me when I say they were all blue and have very different tones.

Check out this close-up of Hale Navy (the winner!) and North Sea. Very different.

compare

I grabbed three test pots of grey paint too and somehow forgot to take a picture of the grey swatches, but I settled on Benjamin Moore’s Stonington Grey. I think it’s going to work wonderfully with Hale Navy, the Dinos Attack bedding, and make the rest of the room feel airy and light.

It’s all starting to come together. I just need to find the time to do the painting. I’m so glad I’ve got the blues. I can’t wait to see it!

Anyone else painting a room?

5 thoughts on “Got the blues

    • He is getting excited about moving into his new room. He likes all the blue colours, but usually picks Hale Navy (thank goodness) or North Sea – I think because it’s in the middle. 🙂

Leave a Reply

