Good things come to those who wait

And wait. And wait. And wait.

It has been over a year since “the drapes that got away” eluded us, but I knew it would just be a matter of time before we found something better. Little did I know that waiting until July (2012) would seem like nothing after a year and a half. But like I said back then, they just weren’t meant to be.

So we waited. We weren’t actively seeking out drapes for the family room, we were just waiting for the right pair to cross our path. Kinda like a watched pot, or finding the spouse of your dreams right after swearing off dating for a while. Life surprises you.

Well, this weekend my soul mate these drapes crossed my path at HomeSense and boy was I pleasantly surprised. I’m in love.

drapes

I love the ikat. And the colours work perfectly in the room, grey, brown, green and cream. I was so excited to get these up and see just how perfect they were for me the space that I forgot to take a before picture. I’ll have to rely on some older photos of the room for the “before”. Bad blogger. Here’s a really old photo (a photo taken before we lived in the house).

18 Family room 2

And here’s one taken after we put together our big-box built-ins. (Disregard the geometric art on the mantle).

fireplace

I was also so excited to get them up that I didn’t iron them before I put them up. Bad housekeeper.

But they make me so happy! They even make me not hate the rod that they’re hanging on.

close up

They are actually really neat. I didn’t realize until I got them home that they were sewn with two hanging options – back tab and rod pocket. How cool is that?!

back tab

I chose back tab as you can see.

They just about reach the floor (maybe they would if you ironed them, Heather). Down the road I may decide to raise the rod and hang the drapes with ring clips (a third option!) giving them a bit more length, but for now I’m pretty tickled with them.

Oh, and I almost forgot to mention the price. These two panels were just $34.99. Total. Not each! That doesn’t even come close to the price of the West Elm ones that I abandoned oh so long ago.

And now for a room checklist update:

  • Source and buy new couch.
  • Wait 8-10 weeks for delivery
  • Purchase new or “rediscover” secondhand arm chairs for more seating in the room
  • Paint
  • Find shelving units or display storage for either side of the fireplace
  • Get a media storage unit for tv, speakers and receiver to replace the old coffee table that we are currently using to hold up our tv — yup we’re using a glass coffee table and the receiver and speakers are on the floor
  • DIY a coffee table  Okay… so I didn’t DIY the coffee table, but this tufted ottoman is a perfect fit for the space. Cushy, soft, kid-friendly, and hollow.
  • New ceiling fixtures
  • Change the look of the fireplace without painting it. (I’ve got something up my sleeve)
  • Art for the room. DIY?
  • Window treatments
  • Accessories – cushions, throws, baskets, objets d’art etc.
  • Find some side tables and maybe ottomans for the club chairs
  • Add a rug to define the space (I’m not sure if I like the rug on carpet idea, so it’s just a thought right now)

Anyone else recently snag something great that they’ve been waiting forever for? A couch, some drapes, a soul mate?

PS: I didn’t get any painting done this weekend. Kids Life gets in the way you know?

One thought on “Good things come to those who wait

  1. They look good Heather , don’t worry about the ironing, the humidity and gravity will smooth things out. another neat trick is to take the hem allowance down and get some iron on fusible tape in the right weight for the fabric and make a new hem.

Leave a Reply

