Fall Mantle

I’m not usually one to decorate for the seasons – except for Christmas, of course. Besides the odd thing here or there for Easter, Valentine’s Day, Thanksgiving, etc. or decorating for a specific party (Super Bowl etc) I don’t usually change our home’s decor that much.

I mean, who am I kidding, I’m still trying to just get it decorated at all. But there’s something about the fall that makes me want to look inside and spruce things up. Its like another chance at spring cleaning, only its fall decorating. Its at this time of year that I want our home to feel the coziest, and most welcoming. So, I got the urge to change up our mantle for the fall.

A Simple Fall Mantle - to london with love

I wanted to use mostly things we already had around the house and it took me about 10 minutes to do.

Fall Mantle

The black lanterns on the left we’ve had since our wedding (we put them in the garden and lit candles after dark). If you don’t have lanterns you could easily gather twigs and branches from your yard and place them in a couple of similar vases.

The mirror I’ve had since the spring. Its a HomeSense find that I thought might go above our bed, but it’s too big. It was one of those I-better-take-it-home-with-me-now, too-good-to-pass-up purchases. I loved it and the price was right, so even though I didn’t know the measurement of the height above our headboard I took a chance. For $24.99 I figured if it didn’t fit there I’d find a place for it somewhere else. It’ll find a home somewhere  in the house after this mantle. Maybe still in our bedroom? If you don’t have a sunburst mirror,  you could replace it with a mirror of a different shape, or a clock.

The leafy swag (best seen in the first photo) I’ve also had for ages. I used to hang it on or above our door in the fall, but this seemed like a good spot for it this year. You could quickly and easily recreate this look with Dollar Store stems, or with a long, low basket.

Autumn Essentials freebie

The Autumn Essentials print is a freebie from Jones Design Company. You can download it here. I just popped it into a Ribba frame from Ikea that we already had. I can’t wait for her Winter or Holiday print. I’m not sure which it’ll be, but I’m sure I’ll find a spot for it in our house.

Fall Mantle Peas

I already had the candle on display, so I just propped it up with a few books with spines in colours I liked (Hunger Games, Silos, Politics and Turf Wars, and Treasure Island) and poured some split peas in the vase to add a little bit of green. You could easily recreate this even without a candle with coffee beans, candy corn or unpopped popcorn, acorns, or pine cones.

Fall Mantle left

That chair is calling my name!

One thought on “Fall Mantle

Leave a Reply

