Deck the walls

‘Tis the season for hosting friends and family, and I’ve made it my mission to get more up on our walls before this weekend when we host our annual open house. All this week I’ll be sharing a few corners of the house that we’ve spruced up by putting some holes in the walls. Uhh… and then hanging stuff off of them.

Nothing like a deadline and putting it out there on the interwebs to get you motivated, right?

So let’s start with our foyer. After I painted the tone on tone stripes, it was finally time to add something to that wall.

Foyer nook

I picked up this set at Target (and I can’t find it online anymore) but I think it’s still available in store. It is from the Threshold line, was reasonably priced, and came with everything you need. Even the frames. We centred the ledges vertically between the stripes and then just overlapped them at a rate that looked good. Read: we eyeballed it.

The frames are double matted so that you can insert a 4×6, 5×7 or 8×10 (un-matted) photo.

I decided to start off by putting our last two Christmas cards in the frames.

double frames

I’ve also added a candle that we’ve had for ages, a couple pine cones, and a few Christmas balls and called it festive enough.

christmas card 2013

christmas card 2012

I love that the photos show how our family has transformed this year from three to four. I might just keep adding our cards over the years.

So there you have it. This little nook is looking so much more finished now!

One thought on “Deck the walls

  1. Pingback: Notchwood – The Final Chapter – to london with love

Leave a Reply

