Chalk it up to a trend

I don’t know if you’ve heard but painting something with chalkboard paint is kinda “in” right now. I’m about the last person on the planet to jump on this trendy train but I did it and I’m so glad I finally did.

I’ve added a chalkboard wall to the play area and I love it already.

This isn’t going to be much of a tutorial but just an update on the progress I’m making in the boys play room.

I taped off a section of the newly-painted wall (you can see a better view of the new colour below) that is centred in the alcove and followed the instructions on the can. I cut in around the edges with a short handled brush and then used a roller on the rest. It was a very quick job, but required two coats.

Then, as per the directions, I let it be for three days. So we waited not so patiently.

The next step was to “condition” the surface by rubbing a piece of chalk over the entire surface and dry rubbing it off. And I was so excited that the three days were up that I forgot to take a picture of the wall after two coats of chalkboard paint. (I used this one from Home Depot) Foster was on hand to help me out with this step. Here’s a picture of the wall half conditioned.

Foster helping me out

half conditioned

You realize just how uneven your walls are when you rub a piece of chalk on it.

close up

Once it was fully covered it was looking like this.

fully conditioned

Then, all I did was take a rag and wipe it all off. And then vacuum up all the dust.

final dry off

Foster approves! (Woah! Did that photo make you dizzy? Sorry… I didn’t bother getting the tripod out.)

I need to wait a full week before using a wet rag to wipe it off, but it’s ready to write on for now. I showed Harrison last night and he loves it. He wanted to practice his letters right away. So we played a bit before dinner. I’ll need to pick up some new colours, because he was a bit disappointed with my lack of selection (only white).

What do you think? Have you jumped on the chalkboard train yet? What creative things have you painted in chalkboard paint? I’ve seen everything from kids tables to fridges.

One thought on “Chalk it up to a trend

  1. Pingback: A Place to Play | to london with love

Leave a Reply

