Something to show for it

On my trip to Ikea last week it was primarily to pick up the “missing” basket for the Expedit in the play room (and to check out a bed – more on that another day). I may have found a few other goodies. Isn’t that always the way?

So without further ado, here ya go!

Harrison helped me pick out this runner. I spotted them while he was playing in the play kitchen for the 10th time. There were a few to choose from, but he really liked the numbers, and I thought the colours were great, so I brought it home with me.

rug

Harry has been enjoying hopping from one number to the next and we are helping him learn to count by tens so this runner is perfect for that too. As you can see I also did remember to pick up what I went for. The fifth basket has found its way to its new home.

basket angle

And last week during my busy week that had nothing to show for it I also made a trip to HomeSense and found a great sign that’s perfect for the play room.

mom rules

I’ve seen many DIY versions of these types of signs, but the price was so good I couldn’t pass it up. At only $24.99 I couldn’t beat it. I could barely get a canvas that size for that price.

mom rules angle

I actually picked up a few more things at Ikea for this space that I’ll have to show you later. I picked up a big drum shade for the light fixture, but picked up the wrong fixture at the store. It’ll be going back and replaced before I can put up the shade. And I snagged a solution for displaying art made by the boys. As soon as it goes up I’ll be posting about it.

So there you have it, the play room is coming along nicely, I think.

play room progress

As you can see the chalkboard is getting lots of use!

Here’s an updated play room to-do list:

  • Get another basket for that fifth spot on the second row next time I’m at Ikea
  • I’d like to replace the white open baskets (that you see overflowing with stuffed animals) and get a large basket to store stuffies and hard toys that don’t fit into one of the cubbies
  • Add a reading nook with some chairs. Maybe make some bean bag chairs myself? (That would be a test of my sewing skills!)
  • Add art to the space and a place to include the boys artwork
  • Add labels to the bins and baskets so that the boys know which bin to look in when they’re taking toys out and definitely so they know where to put them back!
  • Change the light fixture. Husbandman wants something that looks like a spaceship. We’ll see.
  • Maybe include a table or an easel for doing artwork in the space?
4 thoughts on “Something to show for it

  1. Heather that looks much better than most commercial play/learning spaces that I have seen . You do have a really good eye. You need Gruncle Rob to do some mural painting .

Leave a Reply

