Late to the party

So I had this grand plan that I would come back in January and say Happy New Year to you all and kick start this little blog of mine and it would be like I never left. But alas, that is not the case. It has taken me all month to sit down to write this little blurb. Bear with me I’m kinda going train of thought on this one and I haven’t blogged in 8 months!

You guys… Life.Is.Busy.

I went back to work full-time in April and that’s pretty much where I fell off the Internet. I was truly surprised by the amount of work going back to work full-time with two kids would be. I really thought that since I’d been back to work once before and handled that reasonably well, how hard could it be? How much more work could sending one more kid to the same daycare be?

I’ll tell you how much: More than twice as much. Much more. I was completely blindsided by the sheer amount of trivial information I’d have to keep in my head just to keep our family functioning (Did we take his blanket home? Where are the other ones “outside” shoes? How did he nap today? ) and to continue sending our children to school well-fed in washed clothes with washed faces. Not to mention feeding them again at night. They want to eat twice a day at my house? Freeloaders! I’m not complaining, I’m just saying I did not see it coming.

And so, the blog has taken a back seat to our busy life. I’ve missed it. And thought many, many times about coming back to write something. Anything.

I wouldn’t say life has settled down at all, but I just want to get back in the habit of coming back here to chronicle our happy little life.

In the grand scheme of things you haven’t missed much. Not much work done around the house, and life has been “normal” (just busy). The boys are getting big. I’ll share a few pictures soon. Work is work, and that’s pretty much all we have time for.

But, I do have some house progress to share. We have new floors on one level of the house. And let me tell you, if you want to get a project kick-started, start with the floors. Everything else will HAVE to go! Now that the floors have been professionally installed we’ve been spending most of our evenings DIY-ing the rest: Wallpaper removal, baseboard and trim painting, wall painting, outlet switching, light installing… the list goes on… and on!

I think that’s about it for now. I’ll be back soon (hopefully) to share some progress pics of our new floors.

Happy New Year!

 

3 thoughts on “Late to the party

  1. Pingback: Bottom’s up – to london with love

Leave a Reply

